IC Media Group AGM Minutes

Attendees

Media Group Executive Committee: Maciej Tadeusz Matuszewski (*Chair and Election Returning Officer*), James Dunn (*Treasurer*), Max Hunter (*Technical Officer*)

Proxies: Eamonn Postlethwaite (*Proxy for Alexander Mytenka – Media Secretary*)

Club Representatives: Joseph Letts (*Felix*), George Butcher (*IC Radio*), Ellen Mathieson (*STOIC*), Lam Kam (*PhotoSoc*)

Non-Voting Attendees: Kunal Wagle, Cem Hurrell, George Goldberg, Chris Love, Luke Granger-Brown

Apologies

Jonathan Pratt (STOIC)

Absent

Alexander Mytenka (*Media Secretary*), Slobodan Radosavljevic (*Media Development Officer*), Jayraj Rathrod (*A Global Village*)

-||-

Meeting opened 18:19.

1. Approval of 13/2/14 General Meeting Minutes

• Minutes approved unanimously with minor grammatical corrections.

2. Club Reports

a) Felix

- All issues of the paper have been produced as expected.
- Improvements have been made to the website.

b) Radio

- Everything is going well.
- Large increase in membership compared to last year.

c) STOIC

- Several short films have been produced.
- Live shows were done for the election Meet the Candidates session and for Varsity.

d) PhotoSoc

- Equipment rentals have been ongoing as usual.
- A number of photo-walks were arranged.

e) A Global Village

No report presented.

3. Media Executive Committee Officer Reports

a) Chair

- The Union budgeting processing is currently ongoing. Initial CSPB-A allocations have been made. These may change but a minimum allocation for each club has been agreed on. Each club will be sent individual information about their budgeting situation. No CSPB-B allocations will be made this year however, the appeals process will be open next term and this will allow CSPB-B claims to be reclassified as CSPB-A. Funds are limited, however, so the Board will only look favourably on appeals in which the club can show that the money is genuinely required for the club to function.
- There have been some problems with the West Basement decamping but everyone should now be up to date with the schedule and post-decamping arrangements.
- The central Union was planning to reform the Management Group structure (effectively merging Media and Arts & Ents) but this has now been delayed and is unlikely to be decided upon this year.

b) Treasurer

• Everything is going well – claims have been, and will continue to be, approved.

c) Secretary

No report presented.

d) Technical Officer

- This has been a new position this year.
- The technical officer has taken a lead role in the basement decamping and helping to draw up the plans for the new Shared Studio.
- With more shared facilities next year the role of Media Technical Officer will become more important.

e) Development Officer

No report presented.

4. Approval of Changes to IC Radio Constitution

• Approved with minor changes (see attached document).

5. Approval of Changes to Media Group Standing Orders

 Approved. Paragraph 7.4 is to be changed from "A proposer and ten seconders are required to make a nomination valid. Only Members of the Union may be proposers and seconders" to "One seconder is required to make a nomination valid. Only Members of the Union may be seconders."

6. Media Group Awards

• The Media Group Standing Orders already provide general provisions for awarding Media Group Awards. The specifics of the Awards procedure are to be decided at a later date.

7. Election of new Media Group Officers

a) Chair

- Two candidates nominated prior to meeting: Cem Hurrell and Kunal Wagle.
 - Cem Hurrell manifesto:
 - Will support the Technical Officer during the adjustment period in the new Studio
 - Will encourage more tours.
 - Will aim to secure more funding.
 - Kunal Wagle manifesto:
 - Experience as Felix section editor and editor of school magazine.
 - ill aim to help all societies.
- Results:

Cem Hurrell: 5 votesKunal Wagle: 2 votes

RON: 0 votesAbstain: 1 votes

Cem Hurrell is duly elected as Chair of the Media Group Executive Committee.

b) Treasurer

- One candidate nominated prior to meeting: Kunal Wagle.
- Results:

Kunal Wagle: 7 votes

RON: 0 votesAbstain: 1 votes

Kunal Wagle is duly elected as Treasurer of the Media Group Executive Committee.

c) Secretary

- One candidate standing from the floor: Ellen Mathieson.
- Results:

o Ellen Mathieson: 7 votes

RON: 0 votesAbstain: 1 votes

 Ellen Mathieson is duly elected as Secretary of the Media Group Executive Committee

d) Technical Officer

- One candidate nominated prior to meeting: Luke Granger-Brown.
 - Luke Granger-Brown manifesto:
 - ② Highly experienced.
 - Will be free during the move in to the new Studio in late September.
- Results:
 - o Luke Granger-Brown: 6 votes
 - RON: 1 voteAbstain: 1 votes
 - Luke Granger-Brown is duly elected as Technical Officer of the Media Group Executive Committee.

e) Development Officer

- One candidate standing from the floor: George Butcher.
 - o George Butcher manifesto:
 - Highly experienced.
 - Aim to get more people involved in the Media Group.
- Results:
 - o George Butcher: 7 votes
 - RON: 0 voteAbstain: 1 votes
 - George Butcher is duly elected as Development Officer of the Media Group Executive Committee.

Meeting closed 18:57.